When you want to grab a creature or wrestle with it, you can use the [[Actions In Combat#Attack|Attack]] action to make a special melee attack, a [[Grappling|Grapple]]. If you’re able to make multiple attacks with the [[Actions In Combat#Attack|Attack]] action, this attack replaces one of them. - The ==target== of your grapple must be ==no more than one size larger than you and must be within your reach.== - Using at least one free hand, you try to seize the target by making a grapple check instead of an attack roll: a [[Strength]] ([[Athletics]]) check contested by the target’s [[Strength]] ([[Athletics]]) or [[Dexterity]] ([[Acrobatics]]) check (the target chooses the ability to use). - You succeed automatically if the target is [[Incapacitated]]. ![[Incapacitated]] - If you succeed, you subject the target to the [[Grappled]] condition. The condition specifies the things that end it, and you can release the target whenever you like (no action required). ![[Grappled]] ## Escaping a Grapple  A [[Grappled]] creature can use its action to escape. To do so, it must succeed on a [[Strength]] ([[Athletics]]) or [[Dexterity]] ([[Acrobatics]]) check contested by your [[Strength]] ([[Athletics]]) check. ## Moving a Grappled Creature  When you move, you can drag or carry the [grappled](https://www.dndbeyond.com/compendium/rules/basic-rules/appendix-a-conditions#Grappled) creature with you, but your speed is [halved], unless the creature is ==two or more sizes smaller than you.==